top of page
  • Writer's pictureherquota

Sheroes: Not all Heroines wear cape!

“Are you xxx?” She asked


“Yes I am” I replied surprised


“The Registrar have been looking for you since morning, she have even sent people to the hall of residence to get you, where have you been? You better run to her office now.” She said


“What about?” I asked getting agitated


“It is about your admission.” She replied as she walked away


All my appetite vanished as I rushed from the cafeteria towards the registrar office where I was informed I cannot study the course I put in for, for which I have even been attending lectures for the past one and a half weeks.


Fast forward…..I had her called and within few hours she was there (towns apart), after narrating everything to her, she proceeded with me to see the registrar, what was on her mind I cannot tell for sure but you can see her face already filled with gloom as her heart was vigorously weighing all options.


“She would have to either withdraw or put in for another course entirely and the other two courses she can put in for are Industrial Mathematics or Economics and that means she will have to be off 100% scholarship to either 50% or 75% depending on her O level results.” The Registrar announced.


I took a quick glance towards her and I could see her jaw dropped as she faintly muttered “Jesus”.


That was my dilemma when I gained admission into the university where I happen to be one of the pioneer students of same, but do not have credit in chemistry cut across all the O level results I had which would have given me the opportunity to study my dream course-Animal Science, and though I was cleared at the initial check in(I actually thought I had the best miracle possible when I was cleared), then a further scrutiny was done on all candidates and it was discovered I had a fall out on a needful subject, in a private university I have to pay almost half a million per session for just the tuition fee. Where on earth am I going to get that?!


“Don’t worry, I will withdraw, I will write jamb next year again so I can attend a federal university” I said after leaving the Registrar’s office.


“Are you sure about that?” She asked with confusion written boldly on her face.


“What can we do?!” I said half question, half conclusion


Much deliberation was done and she replied.

“I have some gold, I will sell them at least that should cover the 75% of the fee they are requesting for now to put in for the Economics you chose of the two courses available for you” She said at last.


“Are you sure about that?” Now I asked with the confusion having shifted to me.


“Don’t worry, you will buy me more gold later”, she said with a shaky voice and red eye, fighting back her tears. She was a bundle of emotions but she kept her cool.

----------------------------------------------

Strong women wear their pain like they do stilettos, no matter how much it hurts, all you see is the beauty of it.


This best describes her!


She is strong, she is diligent, she is different….It is a common phrase “I have got the best mum in the world” but what can I say?! I will rather say she is the best of bests. Her service to God, to humanity to her family especially her children when they needed the best. She gave the best of everything-of love, devotion, sacrifice, prayers, lectures, support. She had sold gold, sold clothes, knelt and begged for her children’s fees to be paid, she had taken loans she had no idea how to repay, she had used the roof over her head for collateral to give her children the desired(not only the needful). Selfless, patient, enduring! She is the description of Jesus I see. She is more than gold to me.

 

I wrote this some 2/3 years ago for a blogger that did a series on female heroes, and asked his audience for entries. I decided to write about my biggest hero of all time: My Mom.

59 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page