top of page
  • Writer's pictureherquota

Dress the Part

Updated: Dec 10, 2019

It was late evening because it was dark, I couldn't see her face, plus she was sitting in front beside the driver, until we alighted.


Immediately we alighted, I started walking as fast as I usually do so as to catch up with probably the last BRT going my way.


"Good evening ma" she said as she walked so fast to catch up with me. "Good evening" I answered back having realized we both just alighted from the same vehicle some minutes before, but a little wary because I was wondering what she would want to say.


"My name is so so, I sell weaveon, wigs and all sort of hair at so-so market". She brought out her phone and started showing my images of her wares. I was barely paying attention because for one, I was on a pixie cut with half my hair gone, so no way weave on can work for me, and neither would wigs because I don't like those either. "Do you work around here? What hairstyle do you want to make next? You can come and check out my stock anytime you want". "Hmmmmm, no problem but I don't know what style I would make next,'' I responded. “Do you fix hair too?" I asked. "No, but I have a girl that does it so well,'' she responded. "You can come and fix now since your hair is not made yet," she continued.


As I was about to react to that, she quickly went around me in a circle, slightly tilting my head in the process just to see the state of my hair properly. "Oh now I see” she said, noticing that I was on a pixie cut, “but you can buy wig", she added. "Can I have your number please so I can send your images", she continued. "Hmmmm", I responded already getting irritated with her forwardness and with the audacity that she had to feel she could touch my head, while trying so hard to be polite as well.


I gave her my number, she flashed it immediately, asked for my name to know what to save it with, I didn't ask for hers because I didn't have the intention of saving the number.


Long story cut short, this lady frustrated my life. Always calling, much more, she became my "boyfriend" because I would receive her chat first thing in the morning, and last thing before I sleep, urging me to patronize her, and tell my colleagues as well. On days when I am tired and feel like I would die, I would still receive her message making me more infuriated. I contemplated blocking her a few times, I even actually blocked a number I thought was hers but apparently it wasn't hers. Eventually after like a month, a month of torture and frustration, but I must admit sheer persistence, I agreed that she come with her wares on a Friday towards the close of business to meet my colleagues that might be interested.


Now this is where I am going.


I was crazy busy on the said day, she has called several times but I wasn't with my phone, when I saw the missed calls, I called her and asked her to come quickly. She came and I rushed downstairs to pick her (a big sacrifice because I don't go downstairs once I am upstairs. My office is on the 5th floor and no elevator, plus I was crazy busy). I honestly didn't know who I was looking for since I didn’t pay attention to her face that night nor paid attention to her profile picture on WhatsApp afterwards, but immediately I got downstairs, I scanned round and saw this very gorgeously dressed lady with a superb make up face as if she was going for a modelling show. It happened to be her, I took her to the right place, introduced her to my colleagues and left.


Later that evening, I was asking her how it went, since I wasn't able to stay with her during the negotiation and stuff, she thanked me profusely and gave me the full details of everything. I then said "I almost didn't recognize you, you looked so amazing. Your make up was so nice".


"Thank you" she responded. "I intentionally decided to dress well because I was coming to sell not only my wares but also myself. If I look tattered no one would buy from me, if I tell them my hair price, they would think I am hungry, that's why I am calling just any price"


My mouth dropped.


What a marketing strategy.


She is super right.


I have seen a number of people dress their best when going for contracts. A number of people buying a car not necessarily because they can afford it or because they wanted to show off, but because it would make people listen to what they have to say. It gives them prestige. People won't think they are just beggars.


This lesson would be forever impressed in my heart and it helped me to really understand what "dress the part" really means.



17 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page