top of page
  • Writer's pictureherquota

I went to hell: Bad Hair Day!

Updated: Apr 6, 2019

Let's start from here. Anytime I am out and I get a lot more stares than normal without been accompanied with any particular compliment,I usually come to three conclusions depending on the kind of stare; admiring, disgusting or wondering. If it's admiring,then if I don't get a compliment,I don't mind because I know a lot people have issues complimenting others, not to talk of days I look extra beautiful. If it's disgusting,then obviously something is not right about the way I look or something on my body. If it's stare filled with wonder, then it's either of the two above, which normally would bring me back to either of the two conclusions above.


That day's stares was more of wonder than of the other two,which I concluded was more of disgust than admiration judging from how "wondrous" the stares were. As at then, I didn't have a mirror in my apartment, so I became eager to get to work, but in the meantime I became very cautious and refused to put on my normal queenly demeanor considering I was not really sure why people were staring. On getting to work, I went straight to the reflective window by the reception and noticed that the hairstyle I was carrying looked extremely funny. I saw the style online, loved it and asked my stylist to make it... wow...I received the shock of my life. It wasn't what I saw online I got, but because it was home service, made very late the night before that day, also considering I don't have a way to check when it was done, I just believed it was okay.

—

Quick I swung into action, went to locker room and loosened everything. Thank God I got to work very early that day. Did I mention that the style put me in extreme discomfort, so much discomfort that I couldn't sleep the previous night, I complained to the stylist after making it that night but she said the pain will reduce with time. In fact the pain woke me earlier than I use to, and that was why I got to work way too early that day. I was so relieved after loosening it that I was brought close to tears. I couldn't resist the urge to say a quick prayer, thanking God for comfort I have experienced in all areas of my life, and prayed for those in discomfort.


Moral of the story:

1. The word of God functions the same way a normal mirror does, it doesn't only show us how we look, and how disgusting we look in some areas to make amends, but it also shows us how much beauty we exude, how much beautiful God has made our lives after the advent of our new birth (for those that have been born again). Imagine I didn't have a medium to check how I looked, I won't have stopped attracting unnecessary attention, at the same time I would have continued to be in discomfort at least for the time being.


2. We honestly don't know the value of the things we have sometimes till these things are threatened to be taken away from us. We complain about trivial things, forgetting comfort and peace are part of the biggest gifts God daily bestow on us.


Going to hell for few hours taught me all "these".

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page