top of page
  • Writer's pictureherquota

Skinny Girl in Transit

Finally I now have a Nigerian male actor I (can) crush on.


We all know by now that I am unconventional and my stand about some things is very funny. Take relationship/marriage for example. It started with me having very unpopular, un-Nigerian opinion about it (till now), to having no single interest in it at all, to showing a little interest eventually and having my 1st relationship at age 24, to me being deeply involved in the 1st relationship which ended anyway, after 3 long years, to being more extremely passionate about the 2nd relationship which unfortunately can't be because it is not the kind that our very African parents will let thrive, to me being broken and back to the point where I have no interest at all again, with a promise (more like a vow) that my energy would be conserve for other things aside "love".


Fast forward, I have never been a fan of Nigerian movies or soap operas. I am not one that sit to watch all those mushy mushy stuff. As much as I love romantic movies, I love when it's laced with a bit of horror, Sci-Fi, brain tasking scenarios, and unfortunately Nollywood has not gotten to that level yet. Their movies are always easily predicted, it bores me easily, so I don't even try to watch at all. Until one day, somehow I stumbled on a scene of Skinny Girl in Transit by Ndani TV. The part I saw was where Mide and Tiwa were in a marriage counseling session arguing about who to be the breadwinner and also inconclusive about the number of kids they intend to have. It felt so strange that a couple at the verge of marriage can be in such dilemma, and truthfully but sadly, some real life couples actually fall in this category. I made findings to check the series out but forgot about it after a while.


Lately, I again saw a colleague seeing the season 5 of the series and this time I decided to see what the movie is about. After 2-3 weeks, I completed all the seasons yesterday, and despite the lessons delineated were regular mundane stuff that I already know, I was reminded of them, not to talk of fascinatingly it made me believe this thing called love could after all be my thing and nudging me towards the direction of opening my heart once more...or maybe it's just Ayoola Ayolola’s acting that's twisting my mind somehow.

Whatever it is, I enjoyed the soap opera and wished it continued.


And damn, I love the way Abimbola Craig talks (pessimistic much, arrogant much 😃), not the slangs alone but I love the way she constructs her statements. She's a lawyer indeed. There is also this way she does her mouth, actually two particular ways she does the mouth thing especially when she is trying to hold herself from saying something, apparently she does it in real life too. Never been a fan of Beverly Naya, probably because I don't even see Nollywood movies but she has convinced me without doubt, that she is a pretty good actress. By the way, I have seen some of her works, so my conclusion is fair.


I guess you already know who my crush is now, don't you? Between have you seen the movie?


REVIEW OF "SKINNY GIRL IN TRANSIT" MOVIE

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page