top of page
  • Writer's pictureherquota

Five things to learn from Instagram breakdown.

Updated: Mar 25, 2019

So Instagram was down some days back. I was confused for a bit. I thought the Instagram thing was from my end alone, I uninstalled, reinstalled, switched phone off, switched on, restarted, did everything. Then went to Whatsapp too, same, then I assumed it must be general especially after trying to log in to Instagram through chrome and I got a message saying it will be back on soon blah blah...well aside been able to achieve one or two other procrastinated tasks during that period, I learnt 5 lessons from the occurrence:


1. Some practically don't have a life outside social media.


Many depends on it for a MEANS OF LIVELIHOOD (for business purposes) or through social media, they have been able to CONNECT WITH THE WORLD, share their views and opinions, have a voice and "feel loved". And I think as this could be good with lot of advantages, it also have its cons. Imagine what happened the other day to Instagram, some aspects of Whatsapp and Facebook,let's assume it happened permanently or to all features of all these three major social media platforms, what next? How do we start to pick up the pieces of our lives outside social media?


2. We should be more appreciative to vendors even if we pay for the services they render.


We tend to think because we pay for a service, we shouldn't thank the people rendering them. Let me share a story with you. My former boss had this chauffeur that she was extremely used to. The guy knows how to go about everything without her giving any instructions. Eventually the dude had to leave, and gave my boss a 2 months notice, she pleaded with him to give her 6 months,and one of the reasons she gave was because she was so used to him. In fact she didn't want the chauffeur to leave at all, but well she had no choice.


Imagine that person providing that service or selling that product you are already very used to, just stops, how would you feel?


And in cases such as this and platforms as massive as Instagram, Facebook and WhatsApp, we need to thank those people working behind the scene to get them working well, not to talk of the fact that Instagram is (technically) free.


Let's stop feeling entitled.


A little thank you with a smile or a little incentive or a little gift wrapped for your service/product provider won't hurt, and at least in this case, a little patience without condemning those working on platforms such as this would go a long way in letting them know they are appreciated.


3. The available always become the desired once the desired is no longer available.



Everyone resorted to Twitter. Truth be told, I did too. I rushed there to tweet at Instagram and complained since I thought the issue was from my end alone. But as I got to know, we all resorted to Twitter, to either vent or just getting ourselves occupied. We forgot our first love so easily 😄.



4. 24hours would be more than enough if social media is out of those contending for the hours.


I was trying to post a very important information when I first noticed it, after wasting 2 hours trying to figure out what was happening, I eventually decided to do some laundry and see a movie. Both tasks I have been postponing for way too long. It brought to mind how engaging social media can be and made me remember how much 24 hours could be considering the lot I was able to achieve in those number of hours during my stay off times in the past.


5. Finally, the second coming of Jesus would be this unexpected.


Like the crash of Instagram unexpected, so will the second coming of Jesus be.

 

What did you do while Instagram was down for a bit the other day?

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page